top of page
Search
  • Tiffany Chyvonne

Resilience- Turning pain into a children's book- Ashley Banks

Updated: Apr 11, 2020


I had the honor of interviewing the very talented Ashley Banks. Ashley is a published author of a children book “I Love You Forever”, where she revisits her story of being a young child with a mother battling cancer and passing from the illness. Ashley is also the owner of a holistic health company called Naturally Mary where she provides an assortment of aromatherapy oil blends, chemical, and steroid free creams, health supplements. Ashley resides in Atlanta, GA with her young son pursuing her career in oncology data analytics.

 

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

  I've always known that I liked writing. Growing up, I would write poems all the time. I'd write about love and loss and feeling lost. Pretty heavy stuff for someone in elementary school, but that was what I knew. As I got older, I started to realize that I had a great story to tell. I knew I wasn't the only kid experiencing losing someone to cancer. When I was younger, no one really explained to me what was going on. They thought I was too young to understand, but that's the furthest thing from the truth. I think a big part of my emotional trauma was also due to the fact that I was left out the loop. One day my mom was here, and the next day I just knew she was never coming back.

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your book?

One of the most surprising things... I'd say actually how much work goes into creating a book. It's a lot more complex than I though. Rounds and rounds of edits. Collaborations with illustrators, publishers, editors, and PR managers.... It's easy when your idea for your book is in your head. When you have to explain it to someone else it gets tricky. And when you're so passionate about it, you want it to come out perfectly, so there's just so much back and forth.


Have you thought about having your book in the school library?

 Absolutely! That's a goal. I want this book in every school. It needs to be in every school. I needed this book in my school.


 Not only are you an author, but you have a holistic health company? What was the concept of developing your products?   What can you inform people about being healthier?

I base everything in my life around cancer and helping people. My company, Naturally Mary, exudes that. I research a lot about cancer. I look at how different countries approach the disease. I'm a big believer of "food is medicine". What you eat, or ingest, is either fueling disease or fighting it. My products are from the Earth. Herbs, plants, oils, etc. I look at what our ancestors were using.

I understand that the research for cancer is near and dear to you after your mother passing with an aggressive cancer.  Do you feel like you have a ways to go with the advancement of cancer treatment?

Science is ever-progressing. I can't speak for anyone or any company but myself, but I know that miraculous things have been done in naturopathic and holistic medicine. I feel confident that when people are given the tools to be healthy, majority of them will do better.

There is a lot of misconceptions about CBD oil, can you explain the oil & its uses?

One of my favorite products ever. It helps with so much with pain, poor appetite, anxiety, depression, ADHD, headaches, seizures.... I mean there are studies out in the world now about cannabis and cbd oil and tumor reduction. I can talk forever about how much I love this stuff.


What’s next for Ashley Banks? ( more books, projects, tours, speaking  etc,)

As of right now, I have a second book coming out towards the end of this year. It's about a little boy battling with leukemia, so I'm excited about that. My first book, "I Love You Forever", is now sold on Amazon and Barnes & Noble online as a paperback and Kindle e-book. I have thoughts behind a third book in the works for 2020. I'm thinking something more specifically to motherless daughters who are now mothers themselves. We will see. Like I said, my goal is to share my story and help someone. That's all I want.


for more information about Ashley Banks visit www.gonaurallymary.com @gonatuallymary, @thereal_ashleybanks on instagram


I Love You Forever is available on Amazon & Barnes Noble Online

64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page